I shop therefore I am?

The family and I headed to JB for iftar last night and it was seriously a feast for the eyes. (Sorry my phone pretty much died after the pic above) Not just the wide array of food at the bazaars but everything hawked from clothes to kuihs to carpets and every other decorative item promising a brand new look to your home this coming Eid.

Need something from the Middle East? In the store on the left. Need Islamic Calligraphy from China? You’ve come to the right place.

On the drive home after terawih prayers, my sister who’s just turned 20 this year, seemed to have an epiphany and started asking my parents about their experience preparing for Eid when they were younger.

Of course, it brought on stories about how they had many siblings and one parents on a fixed income didn’t bring them the luxury we ‘kids’ have today. Even a wedding where briyani was served was considered a novelty, not to mention the chicken they slaughtered only on special occasions.

I mean we’ve all heard about how globalization has made life “easier, cheaper, faster“ but I think its interesting to find out exactly when everything suddenly became within our reach. Is it the availability of easy credit? Is it the promise of enhanced status with every new purchase? Is it the feeling of how you deserve to spend after working so darn hard? Is it that debt is very much acceptable in our society? Or is it really that things have become so cheap that you might as well buy it rather than to spend time and effort making it yourself?

I don’t have the answer, in fact I know that I was / still am one of the problem. ( As materialistic as it seems,  well, excuse me, it makes me happy!)
The bank account is not as healthy as I’d like it to be and although I’m not in credit card debt, I do still have a loan on my house and a debt to my retired in-laws who thankfully insisted on paying first for renovation due to their aversion to interest payments.

Googling fashion bloggers who have experienced debt also painted a bleak but hopefully rosier- in- the-future picture.

Mischiefmydear (I’m a little behind, she wrote this in 2010) wrote about spiraling, something I admit I have done on more than once ocassion ( I mean when you get a great top at an affordable price, Im sure there are cheap accessories to accompany it at the store next door, right?  Betsey J of thatbloggergirl shared about her credit card debt at age 18 and how despite being comfortably well off now, still prefers creative fashion bloggers rather than those who flash labels. This interview with Smart Money Fashion shows a path that Im sure all of us would love to walk down.

I’m still searching for my yellow brick road to financial freedom utopia but I hope I’ll be in pretty ruby slippers when I get there!

About Zubz Kadir

Zubz Kadir is the founder of StartMyMummyBusiness.com She is also a self-professed: Travel Addict. Chocolate Lover. A champion of the whole ‘design -your -own -life’ mindset. Camera shy, a work from home mum who relishes every single moment spent with with the little one. Realtor who blogs at PropertyRocking.com, Dreamer who wants to own dwellings around the world, if possible a cave in Spain, a castle in Scotland & a farm in New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Inspired, Personal Finance, Rantings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

